Interview 1

Who Did You Interview?

  • I interviewed my dad.

Demographics That Might Provide Helpful Context for Their Responses

  • Male
  • Older than me (50 years old)
  • Hardware engineer
  • Lives with his wife and child
  • Lives in a suburban city

Key Findings from the Interview

  • What spaces/places do you use in your day-to-day life?
  • My dad uses the dining room to work (since he works from home) and the family room for watching TV during his leisure time. He also uses his bedroom for sleeping.

  • What features define your working environment?
  • He has a big table where he can have all his necessary items. He thinks that he has a "basic office setup" where he has his laptop and monitor placed in front of him and with some paperwork on the side. He thinks that his environment should have good lighting and should feel comfortable. He also wants to be able to monitor his child's study as well.

  • What features define your living environment?
  • He prefers his living environment to be suburban so he can live in a quiet area. However, he also doesn't want to be too far away from major highways so he can still access shops and other places. He thinks that the house shouldn't be too big but at least comfortable for the family. He thinks that having a good backyard is essential; he likes backyards with trees so it feels more relaxing. He also likes that the family room has a big TV and stereo so he can enjoy music and movies.

  • How can you make your living environment/workspace more sustainable?
  • He can make his living environment more sustainable by incorporating sustainable eating. He eats a lot of meat and he wants to reduce that. He plans on eating more vegetables and introducing that habit into his household as well.