Interview 4

Who Did You Interview?

  • I interviewed my mentor.

Demographics That Might Provide Helpful Context for Their Responses

  • Male
  • Older than me (21 years old)
  • Majoring in environmental science and biology
  • Lives with his dormmate
  • Lives in an urban city

Key Findings from the Interview

  • What spaces/places do you use in your day-to-day life?
  • He goes to his college's community hall really often to catch up with his friends and start on his homework. He also utilizes the campus library to have educational discussions with friends and to finish homework there as well. He lives in his apartment dorm with his dormmate and he attends classes in the lecture hall.

  • What features define your working environment?
  • He states that he truly needs peace and quiet to work well. Because of that, he often goes to soundproof rooms inside the library or brings his headphones with him when he goes to the community room. He also relies on his MacBook a lot so he always needs to sit somewhere with an electrical outlet. He likes working in cramped spaces because it motivates him to finish his work faster.

  • What features define your living environment?
  • He has a really messy room because of the weird design of his closet. He isn't able to put clothes in easily and so he often tosses them to the side of his bed. His dormmate, however, is very clean and makes sure that their communal spaces are always spotless. He spends most time in his bedroom relaxing or sleeping and he also spends a lot of time at school.

  • How can you make your living environment/workspace more sustainable?
  • He would make his living environment more sustainable by using less paper. Since he goes to college, he uses a lot of paper and he always feels guilty about using so much.