As you make changes to your Revit Cloud Model, save often to avoid losing data if your computer has unexpected problems—for example, a freeze, crash, or loss of network connectivity.
- Use File > Save — to create a local copy of your model as an RVT file on your computer.
- Work saved in this way is only available on your computer.
- Changes saved this way are private to your computers. Collaborators will not have access to them until your sync your model.
- Use Collaborate > Synchronize with Central> Synchronize Now — to synchronize the changes that you've made on your computer with the Revit Cloud Model.
- The Revit Cloud Model will be updated with your changes, and collaborators will have access to them.
- Changes that others have made to the Revit Cloud Model will be incorporated into the version on your computer.
- As you work on your model day to day, use this option to synchronize changes and share your work.
Workflow
- Choose Collaborate > Synchronize with Central> Synchronize Now.
- When you Sync with Central, Revit performs these four steps:
- Save to Local — Revit saves a copy of your current model with your changes on your local computer (for safety).
- Reload latest — changes to the Revit Cloud Model made by collaborators are incorporated into your version.
- Save to Central — your updates are incorporated into the Revit Cloud Model.
- Save to Local — Revit saves a new copy with all the changes on your local computer.
- If you choose Collaborate > Synchronize with Central> Synchronize and Modify Settings, a dialog appears offering additional options:
- You can:
- Compact Central Model — to reduce the file size by compacting the elements.
- Customize which Revit worksets and elements to relinquish (check-in and relinquish control to enable others to edit them)
- Of these, you’ll typically want to relinquish Borrowed Elements most every time you sync.
- A very handy Synchronize button appears in the toolbar at the top of the Revit window to allow to quickly synchronize your model.
- You can click the button or open the menu to choose a synchronization option, and Revit remembers your choice.