In your day-to-day work, you're typically in modeling mode. You work in Revit to place and edit model elements, and you may link to other Revit models to help place your elements.
When it’s time to save your work, you have three options:
- SAVE — to create a local copy of your model as an RVT file on your computer.
- Work saved in this way is only available on your computer. Collaborators will not have access to your latest changes.
- SYNC NOW — to synchronize the changes that you've made on your computer with the Revit Cloud Model.
- The Revit Cloud Model will be updated with your changes, and collaborators will have access to them.
- Changes that others have made to the Revit Cloud Model will be incorporated into the version on your computer.
- As you work on your model day to day, use this option to synchronize changes and share your work.
- PUBLISH LATEST VERSION — at key milestones, you can publish views from the latest version of this model to be shared widely with others. You:
- Specify which views and sheets to share in Publishing Settings.
- Synchronize your latest changes.
- Use the Publish Latest Version tool to publish this version of the selected views and sheets in your model as a new version to be:
- Viewed and explored in the Forma Data Management model viewer.
- Shared with others via a web link.
- Placed on Forma Boards.
Demo
This demo shows the workflow using earlier versions of the tools now called Forma Data Management (BIM 360 and Autodesk Construction Cloud). The tool's name has changed, but the workflow is the same.